Tuesday, February 2, 2010


On 2 February, 1848, Mexico signed the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, ending the Mexican War.

In Mexico, this war is referred to as the War of North American Invasion (La Intervención Norteamericana).
(In Vietnam, the "Vietnam War" is referred to as the "American War".)

The cession of land that the treaty demanded from Mexico included parts of the modern-day U.S. states of Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, and Wyoming, as well as the whole of California, Nevada, and Utah, and, depending on one's point of view, Texas. The remaining parts of what are today the states of Arizona and New Mexico were later peacefully ceded under the 1853 Gadsden Purchase.

1 comment:

Casimire said...

The song should go...This land WAS your land, this land WAS your land, from Californie to the New York islands...